Home » Uncategorized » Senseless

Senseless

senseless

“I can’t believe that he’s gone. It was just three days ago that we were hanging out at the beach and now he’s dead. Mama I really feel bad inside about this; he was so young.”
“Well baby all that we can do for him now is pray and learn from his mistakes. Ask Jesus for peace in your spirit and he will grant it to you. Do you think you need to come home and stay at the house for a while?
“No Mama, I’m fine. I’ve got my friends here and they need me too. It’s hard for all of us right now but we’ll make it through it.”
“Ok baby, if you need me please just call. Remember we love you and will always be here for you.”
“Thanks Mama, I’ll talk to you later, love you.”
“I love you too baby and I’ll talk to you later. Bye.”
“Bye Mama.”

Just as Michelle hung up the phone her roommate Raquel burst into her bedroom looking a little wired.

“Hey Michelle whatcha doin’?”
“I just got off the phone with my mother. I was telling her about Jeremy and how he overdosed. She was real sad about it and offered me to go stay at home with her and Daddy for a few days.”

Raquel stood with one hand on her hip and a smirk on her face.

“You gonna run home to mommy and daddy the first time somebody you know dies? You’ll be alright.”
“Raquel, I don’t think that you’re taking this serious enough. Jeremy is dead and he’s never coming back, ever. Doesn’t that mean anything to you?”
“Yea, I miss him but life goes on. He should have known his tolerance level anyway.”
“What, what kind of dumb shit is that? Please, Raquel I just want to be alone right now.”
“Fine, cry baby, I’ll be in my room if you need me.”

With that being said she stormed out of Michelle’s bedroom and slammed the door behind her. An hour later Michelle decided to go and talk to her roommate about the plans for the funeral. She knocked before entering and Raquel told her to come in. Raquel’s eyes were wide and wild; Michelle could see that she was under the influence of something.

“The wake is going to be held Saturday right Raquel?”
“Yea, I think so. Call my brother Jose, he knows all the details.”

Michelle looked around Raquel’s bedroom floor at the beer and liquor bottles that lay about.

“Rachel are you going to be alright?”
“I’m gonna be fine. I’m fine.”

Just then Rachel pulled a mirror from under her bed. On the mirror lay a short straw and three long lines of cocaine. She placed the mirror on her lap and inhaled one of the long lines with the short straw. This infuriated Michelle.

“I can’t believe that you are going to sit right here in my face and do this shit. We just lost our boy behind that shit and here you are doing it right in front of me. I always tried to mind my business about what you put in your body but that’s only because you always showed me the respect of not doing it in front of me. Now that Jeremy died you want to pull this shit? Do you want to die too?”

Raquel responded with a wave of her hand.

“Fuck that, ain’t shit gonna happen to me!”

Raquel leaned down to get high again and just then Michelle doused the mirror with a half empty beer she grabbed off of the night stand ruining the drugs. Rachel was enraged.

“You stupid bitch, what the hell are you doing? You messed up all my shit; I should kill your ass!”
“You want to kill me over drugs? What the hell is wrong with you? You’ve got a real problem and you need help.”

Michelle turned to walk out of the room when suddenly Raquel leaped from the bed wielding the mirror. Before Michelle could turn back around to face her attacker the corner of the mirror was lodged in the base of her skull killing her instantly. Raquel stood over her breathing heavily as her friend lay on the floor bleeding out. A single tear rolled down her cheek before she turned her attention back to trying to figure out how she was going to get more drugs. Three friends, three lives, gone in three days two deceased and one imprisoned on death row all because of her lust for blow.
Senseless
Reference: “Decisions, Death & Desperation” & “Raquel’s Rage”

 

Leave a Reply

